Six Ministers to Leave Jonathan’s Cabinet

Not less than six ministers may quit President Goodluck Jonathan cabinet in October as part of preparations for the 2015 general elections.

The six ministers are expected to resign their appointments in order to pursue their political ambitions on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

The ministers who have governorship ambitions in their respective states include Samuel Ortom Ministry of State, Trade, Industry and Investment; Bala Muhammad Ministry of Federal Capital Territory; Emeka Wogu, Ministry of Labour; Labaran Maku Ministry of Information; Nyesom Wike Ministry of State, Education; and Musiliu Obanikoro Ministry of State, Defence.

Their pending resignation is expected to lead to a major shakeup in the Federal Executive Council.

A Presidency source said the ministers’ exit would lead to the constitution of “election cabinet” by the President.

“Their resignation will come very soon. You know the President will have to fill the vacancies that will be created before the general elections in February 2015. You also know that the Senate must approve nominees. It is therefore important that the list be forwarded to the senators before everybody will be engrossed in election matters in their various constituencies,” the source said.

Follow Us on Social Media

Related posts

Select Language
error: Content is protected !!
WhatsApp WhatsApp us