Reelection: Seyi Makinde Wins Big in Oyo

Seyi Makinde Photo
Seyi Makinde

Incumbent Oyo State governor, Oluseyi Makinde of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has been declared winner of Saturday’s governorship election in the state in what is evidently a resounding victory. With his re-election for another four-year term, Makinde, an engineer, follows in the footsteps of his predecessor, late Abiola Ajimobi, who broke the jinx of single term tenure by governors in the state.
Announcing the result on Sunday, the State Returning Officer, Prof Adedayo Bamire, said Makinde, the governorship candidate of the PDP, won the election with 563,756 votes. Bamire said the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC candidate, Teslim Folarin, a three-term senator, trailed behind with 251, 230 votes, while the Accord Party’s candidate, Adebayo Adelabu, former deputy governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN, garnered 38, 757 votes.
Governor Makinde won in 31 out of the 33 local government areas of the state.

Follow Us on Social Media

Related posts

Select Language
error: Content is protected !!
WhatsApp WhatsApp us