Igiebor, Soyinka, Ayu for Abiola’s Award Ceremony 

The federal government has announced the modalities and names of those invited to witness the investiture of Moshood  Abiola, winner of June 12, 1993, presidential election annulled by Ibrahim Babangida, former military president, and two others. President Muhammadu Buhari had on June 6 announced a presidential order through which he made a declaration that June 12 will replace May 29, as the Democracy Day for the country. While Abiola will be posthumously conferred with the highest medal I. The land, Grand Commander of the Federal Republic, GCFR, Babagana Kingibe, his running mate at the election and the late Gani Fawehinmi, the fiery Lagos lawyer and human rights activist will be given Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger, GCON. Abiola’s award is unique because he is taking the award reserved for presidents. The second award Fawehinmi and Kingibe will share with notable figures like leaders of the National Assembly. Families of Abiola and Fawehinmi enthusiastically accepted the presidential honour.

It is noteworthy that the authorities made conscious efforts to identify major people in the struggle for the validation of June 12 election. The government invited leaders of the then dreaded NADECO and the critical press. 

The following are some of the dignitaries expected at the event, scheduled for Tuesday June 12 at the Conference Centre of the Aso Rock Villa, Abuja:

Invitees include: 

Prof Wole Soyinka

Femi Falana,SAN

Asiwaju Bola Tinubu

Chief Bisi Akande

Ms Ayo Obe

Bayo Onanuga – The News

Kunle Ajibade – Tempo

Nosa Igiebor – Tell

Kayode Komolafe – Media Hope 93

Sen Jonathan Zwingina – DG Hope 93

Comrade Frank Ovie Kokori

Prof Humphrey Nwosu (Prof. Nwosu was the chairman of the then National Electoral Commission)

Governors elected under SDP platform

– Former Senate Presidents – Iyorchia Ayu and Ameh Ebute  and Speaker Agunwa Anekwe along with Principal Officers of the National Assembly elected under SDP platform. 

The families of the awardees have also been invited to attend.

Also invited are Senate President, Bukola Saraki, Speaker Yakubu Dogora, Principal Officers of the National Assembly, Members of the Federal Executive Council and all State Governors.

Follow Us on Social Media

Related posts

Select Language
error: Content is protected !!
WhatsApp WhatsApp us