Buhari to inaugurate Transition Committee on Wednesday

Muhammadu Buhari, president-elect, will inaugurate his 18-man transition committee on Wednesday, after which they are expected start interfacing with the Federal Government’s transition committee, led by Namadi Sambo, vice president. Last week, President Jonathan and Buhari met for the second time in the Presidential Villa to discuss the modalities for a seamless engagement between the two committees. The Government team, which held their second meeting last week, has asked all the ministries to compile their handover notes and transit to the committee for processing.

Buhari’s Committee is headed by Ahmed Joda, a former permanent secretary, with Doyin Salami, a development economist, as deputy; and Adamu Adamu, public analyst and columnist with Daily Trust, secretary.  Other members are: John Oyegun, APC national chairman; Rotimi Amaechi, governor of Rivers State; Audu Ogbe, a former PDP chairman now a chieftain of APC; Ogbonnaya Onu, a former ANPP chairman and an APC stalwart; Boss Mustapha, APC campaign director of mobilization; and Hadi Sirika, a senator.

Others are: Festus Odumegwu, a former managing director of Nigerian Breweries and former chairman of National Population Commission; Wale Edun, a former commissioner of finance of Lagos State; Bola Adesola, chief executive of Standard Chartered Bank;  Nike Aboderin, an assistant general manager in Skye Bank; Abubakar Malami, SAN; Lawal Ja’afaru Isa, a retired general; Muhammadu Hayatudden, a financial expert; Solomon Dalung, , a lawyer and an activist; and Tam David West, a professor emeritus and a former petroleum minister under Buhari’s military administration.

A break down shows the committee has six politicians, five financial experts, one journalist, a retired general and technocrats. Three members are from the south south, two from southeast, three from the south west and 11 from the three geo-political zones in the north.


Follow Us on Social Media

Related posts

Select Language
error: Content is protected !!
WhatsApp WhatsApp us