OSCARS Selects Nigeria Committee


As part of preparations for the 2015 Oscars, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) has approved a twelve-member committee of Nollywood stakeholders called the Nigerian Oscars Selection Committee (NOSC).


This move paves the way for Nigerian entries to be considered for the Oscars described as the world’s most sought after and prestigious prizes for films.


Every year, countries with an approved selection committee would submit one film for consideration in the Foreign Language Film Award category of the Oscar. Out of all the films submitted in this category, only five films are picked for Academy members to cast their votes and choose a winning foreign language film.


Chineze Anyaene, filmmaker and committee chairperson said the approval lends a voice to Nigerian films in the international film circle. “This is a great opportunity for Nigeria to have a voice in the international film arena,” she said.


The NOSC is made up of twelve professionals who have over the years distinguished themselves in the Nigerian movie industry. Their task is to pick one Nollywood movie each year, which will then be submitted for the Oscars.


The committee members include, Chineze Anyaene, Ngozi Okafor, Olumide Amure, Ramsey Nouah, Kene Mkparu, Emeka Mba, Chioma Ude, Akin Salami, Midred Okwo, Biola Alabi, Charles Novia and Shuaibu Husseini.


A member of the committee, Husseini says, “The Nollywood film industry needs to play globally so people begin to look towards us.”


Every Nollywood movie selected each year will compete with movies from eighty-five other countries for the Best Foreign Language Film Award.


Follow Us on Social Media

error: Content is protected !!
WhatsApp WhatsApp us