Maku, Wike, Others Set to Resign As Ministers

There are strong indications that about five serving Ministers in President Goodluck Jonathan’s cabinet are now ready to resign their appointment and formally join governorship race in their various states ahead of the 2015 general elections.

The Ministers include Labaran Maku, Minister of Information; Musiliu Obanikoro, Minister of State for Defence; Emeka Wogu, Labour Minister; Bala Muhammed, Federal Capital Territory; Samuel Ortom, Minister of State for Trade, Industry and Investment and Nyesom Wike, Minister of State for Education.

Maku at a thanksgiving service yesterday at St. Patrick’s Catholic Church, Akwanga, Nasarawa State told the congregation of his interest to resign and formally register his ambition for the 2015 governorship race in the state.

“It is time to make my interest known. By the grace of God, I will sacrifice the comfort of a minister to go into the wilderness. I want to sacrifice the comfort of the high office that I am in now to join my people in the wilderness in Nasarawa State to fight for peace and justice in this state,” he declared, while stating that there had been unwarranted bloodletting in the state, in recent time.

Similarly, during the weekend, Wike was spotted in a political gathering in Rivers State where he was endorsed by the people as the next governor of the state.

Jonathan had told all political appointees in his cabinet to resign their position in other not to slow down the wheels of governance.

Related posts

error: Content is protected !!